About Japan: The Nation

The traditional name for Japan is Nihon.

The Japanese Flag flying over the Hiroshima Peace ParkThe island country of Japan is one of the most powerful nations in the world. It is traditionally known as 'The Land of the Rising Sun.' This is reflected in the national flag.

Japan's western border is the Sea of Japan and beyond that the coastline of Russia, China, North and South Korea.

Japan consists of four main islands: Honshu, Hokkaido, Kyushu and Shikoku. In addition to these four islands, there are also nearly 4,000 thousand small islands that dot the coastline.

More than three-quarters of Japan’s area is uninhabitable as it is covered in steep, densely forested mountains. Most of the area is subject to earthquakes.

There are over 50 active volcanoes in Japan. The most famous mountain in Japan is Mount Fuji, which is an inactive volcano.